Okay, so maybe it won’t be one. Rachel Maddow said last night that Palin might do okay based on her past performance in debates – she’s apparently good at answering the question she wants to answer instead of the one she’s asked, and her folksiness is supposedly going to be a big plus.

I don’t know.

What I do know, is that tonight’s debate is definitely must-see TV.

And wouldn’t you know it, I have a class this evening at the time of the debate. And it’s not the type of class where I can slouch in the back and watch the debate on my laptop, either. Nope, it’s an art-type class – a workshop on making mandalas – one I like, and one that only meets about a half dozen times, so I don’t want to miss it.

Dammit.

So I’ve set the VCR to record MSNBC’s lead-up to the debate, the debate itself, and the after-chatter. And I will be watching the entire thing, train wreck or not, once I get back from class.

On the Palin side, they’ve set expectations so low that if she manages to pronounce her own name correctly the Republicans will declare it a win.

On the Biden side, the main concern is not looking like a bully as he rhetorically eviscerates her. I’m not sure what will constitute a win for the Democrats in this debate.

I know I’m looking forward to staying up late to watch it all, then parse the reactions.

Pass the caffeine. It’s going to be a late night for this political junkie…

jane doe

