…because the police were doing everything they could to keep the protesters away from the people the protesters wanted to communicate their opinions to.

It was not for lack of trying on my part. Over the course of the day, I basically walked a grid through the downtown area near the Pepsi Center and the Convention Center. But I didn’t see any large groups of protesters at all.

I saw a few people who looked like they planned to take part in some sort of protest. These people were mostly wearing Birkenstocks or Chuck Taylors, snarky political t-shirts, and backpacks, and spent a lot of time shaking their heads (in disgust, I assume) at all the police in riot gear everywhere you looked.

Actually, that’s also probably a pretty good description of how I looked yesterday.

Maybe they were all bloggers…though now that I think about it, aren’t political bloggers often protesting various government actions?

I did see a few small groups attempting to protest. First, a few women who were apparently in Code Pink, looking like they were waiting for a few more of their friends before getting started:

Code Pink? Or merely fashion disasters?

Code Pink? Or merely fashion disasters?

There were the die-hard Hillary supporters who apparently were hoping for some sort of coup at the convention:

Hillary supporters

Hillary supporters

Some die-hard Hillary supporters

Some die-hard Hillary supporters

Then, of course, there were the people who claimed to be disaffected Hillary supporters planning to vote for McCain:

Ass-hats in a Hummer

Ass-hats in a Hummer

But I’m always a sucker for the religious nutcases who insist that I am going to burn in hell for being a liberal:

Right-wing religious wackos...

Right-wing religious wackos...

...practicing intolerance...

...practicing intolerance...

...just as Jesus commanded.

...just as Jesus commanded.

They protest, as is their first amendment right. I mock them, as is my first amendment right.

-jane doe

