Everywhere you looked on Monday, someone was trying to sell you something with Barack Obama’s name or picture on it.

Vendors booth at the DNC

Vendor's booth at the DNC

One of my favorites (as I noted in one of my posts on Monday) was the guy who was selling Barack Obama watches “guaranteed to be more accurate than George Bush.” I pointed out to the guy selling them that this was hardly difficult, as even a stopped watch is right two times a day, which would still be more accurate than our beloved alleged president. He just kind of looked at me funny.

Write your own caption

Write your own caption

Besides the usual junk one would expect at this sort of event, I saw the following items offered for sale:

A Barack Obama action figure:

An action figure we can believe in

"An action figure we can believe in"

Obama in a Bottle:

Barack in a Bottle

Barack in a Bottle

And Obama or Denver shot glasses, beer steins, mouse pads, towels, bottle openers, keyrings, and/or plush donkeys:

Do we really need the commemorative mouse pads?

Do we really need the commemorative mouse pads?

I have a fondness for the ridiculous, so naturally I couldn’t resist picking up a few things that struck me as truly silly:

The Obama breath mints were nice…

Breath mints we can believe in

Breath mints we can believe in

But I have to admit I like the playing cards better. Both the aces and kings show Obama:

Obama is aces

Obama is aces

The rest of the cards show other people, including politicians:

Leahy, Pelosi, and Hillary

Leahy, Pelosi, and Hillary

…news (and fake news) people:

Stewart, Colbert, and Olbermann

The Liberal Trinity: Stewart, Colbert, and Olbermann

…and of course, these two jokers:

Pair of jokers

Pair of jokers

Before you ask: no, I didn’t buy one of those famously accurate Obama watches. I stopped wearing a watch when I left my old law firm and no longer had to justify my existence in six-minute increments.

I did, however, buy one of those plush donkeys with a Denver 2008 t-shirt on it, though. But it was a gift. For my baby nephew. And if he’s a very good little boy, he might even get to play with it some day.

jane doe

