Okay, maybe I’m being a bit extreme when I say that. I honestly hope it won’t come down to it. But if Hillary and her minions do exercise the nuclear option, I’m not sure I’ll have a major party candidate I can in good conscience vote for come November. I am quite certain many other Democrats and independents feel the same way. Which means what seemed impossible just a year ago – a Republican victory in this year’s presidential election – may be looming on the horizon.

Perhaps I should back up a bit, and explain what I mean by all this.

The Huffington Post is reporting today that Clinton’s supporters may exercise what is known as the nuclear option – forcing a rules change through the Democratic Party’s rules and bylaws committee to retroactively allow delegates from Florida and Michigan to be seated at the national convention in Denver.

Those states held their primaries early – in violation of Democratic party rules – and current rules prevent the seating of any delegates selected in those primaries.

The candidates knew and agreed in advance that the primaries for those states wouldn’t count – Barack Obama’s name didn’t even appear on the Michigan ballots. Yet the Clinton people are now trying to force their delegates to be seated at the convention because that’s the only shot she has at winning the delegate count at this point.

I understand the frustration that voters in those states must be feeling that their primary votes will not be counted in this year’s close race. But both states were given opportunities to remedy their actions to comply with national party rules, and neither state chose to do so.

I find the Clinton camp’s behavior in recent weeks extremely troubling. First, one cannot help but feel a bit dizzy with all the spinning that they’ve been trying to do lately – only swing states matter, or only big states matter, or only primary states (as opposed to caucus states) matter. They’ve done everything on that front but just come out and flatly say that only states that went for Hillary in the primary matter.

But it’s not just the spinning of primary results that is troubling – that’s part of the game, after all. Rather, it is the fact that she seems to be bent on doing the Republican’s work for them, when all reasonable strategies for victory would now no longer work for her, that I find most troubling. Suggesting that Obama hasn’t passed some sort of “commander in chief test”, making insinuations about his electability (um, sugar, he’s getting more votes than you — doesn’t that say enough about relative electability?), implying that McCain would somehow be more qualified to lead than Obama…this is not the way to make sure the party can move forward once the convention in Denver is over.

If Hillary is so bent on winning that she is willing to risk the destruction of her own political party, how can we hope that she can build the kinds of coalitions necessary to heal this country after eight years of the Decider-in-Chief?

My own state’s primaries are long over. And, in fact, my state is one of the states that, in Hillary’s mind, doesn’t really count. Barring an incident with John McCain eating an aborted fetus during a televised debate in October, my state will most likely end up in the red come election night this year. So what I say may not matter to Hillary and her supporters.

Nevertheless, I feel I must say it.

If Hillary is somehow successful in her efforts to derail the Obama train, and she becomes the Democratic Party’s nominee, I’m not sure I can in good conscience vote for her.

I didn’t always feel that way. Back when we were voting here in Redstatesville, I was actually happy to have two candidates I felt I could support. Yes, I voted for Obama, but I would have accepted and backed Hillary at that point if she had been the winner.

Now, I don’t trust her further than I could comfortably throw her pantsuited ass.

I realize that politics at the national level require certain levels of nerve, chutzpah, and narcissism. A certain amount of making nice with people whose views are appalling to you is a real necessity. But anyone who is willing to go to the lengths she has been lately in order to achieve power is in no way to be trusted with that power.

So if it comes down to a race between her and McCain, I may be writing in Obama. Or – worse yet – not voting in at all in the presidential race.

I don’t really see any other choice for me. I can’t vote for McCain, of course. But at some point, my loyalty to the Democratic Party will stretch no further. I will not vote for a candidate whose tactics I find repugnant.

I don’t think I am alone in feeling this way, either.

Which means that McCain is looking more and more likely to win this sucker come November.

Thus, the Canada option.

jane doe

P.S. Of course, none of this changes the fact that I really think that Bush and Cheney ought to be impeached. And tried for crimes against humanity and for violating the laws of this nation, the constitution, and their oaths of office.

