Again, as I read news coverage about the denial of basic constitutional rights, I find myself wondering exactly what country I am living in these days. The NY Times had a great story a couple days ago about Donald Vance, a U.S. Citizen and whistleblower who contacted the FBI because he was concerned about some things he saw at the company in Iraq that he was working for. Vance and one of his co-workers were held without trial, without access to legal counsel, and without good cause in Iraq for several months. The conditions would not pass muster under any reading of the U.S. Constitution that I am familiar with, other than perhaps our alleged president’s understanding of the rights of our citizens. This story is disturbing and yet somehow not surprising in the current environment.

 

Thanks to John Amato over at Crooks and Liars for the link to this troubling story.

 

jane doe

 

